How to Read Harry Potter

10 Jan

As I have been reading my Nora Roberts’ MacGregor series non-stop these few nights, I can’t help but recall the time back in 2011 when the girls started reading J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter. I held them off the series but eventually gave in and bought the whole series for them. The treasured books has been read and reread many times over.

Last year, M2 told me she reads the series in two different ways.

How does one read a book in two different ways? Surely, when reading, you read the contents, flip the pages and repeat this process until the end, no? Unless you consider lying down with legs pointing skywards being the other way?

Well, I learnt then there IS another method to read a series of books. First, you read the conversations in the book; just the conversations. In M2’s case, it was all seven of the Harry Porter books in this manner. Then you read the book as a whole—complete in the way they are written—again, all seven in the series. What an interesting method. M2’s mind boggles me sometimes.

I don’t think I will do that as much as I enjoy Nora. My other way of reading is simply just reading the online version instead of the physical paperback, having discovered this alternative recently. So in my case, it’s holding my iPad Mini to enjoy a good read instead of holding the paperback. And no, my legs are not pointing skywards.

3 Responses to “How to Read Harry Potter”

  1. Jeyna Grace January 10, 2014 at 11:18 am #

    Reading just the conversations? Interesting way of reading a book.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Butterbeer | Angieneering - April 10, 2017

    […] the height of the Harry Potter years, M2 like every other fan, was Harry Potter crazed. She would read and re-read the books and knew lines by heart. It was rather heart-warming to see her (and M1 as well) do so much […]

Leave a Reply

