Blundstone Reborn

13 Feb

I decided to resole my busted Blundstone to give it a new lease of life before the Lunar New Year. Not quite the same in terms of the sole pattern and thickness, I should at least be happy that the boots can be salvaged. After all, the top portion of it is still good and can be used. It’s just the bottom that experienced hydrolysis and disintegrated.

Anyway, with the repair cost only one fifth of the original cost of the boots, I shouldn’t complain. Also I had a brand new replacement pair delivered and with this pair repaired, I now have two pairs of Blundstone.

This is how it looks with the new sole.

A new sole

A new sole


A comparison of the old (top) and the new (bottom).

A comparison of the old (top) and the new (bottom).

3 Responses to “Blundstone Reborn”

  1. hugh chalmers wilson February 9, 2017 at 9:43 pm #

    Just curious if the Blundstone repair held or fell off? others have tried to do what you did but the glue does not like to stick to the old rotten sole so the whole things just falls apart again!
    Love to hear!

    • angieneering101 February 9, 2017 at 9:48 pm #

      Hi. Thanks for visiting and this question! The repaired pair is now with my daughter at university. And it’s holding up okay in snow and rain conditions.

      As for my new pair, it has yet to see much action because places I travel to, I wear golf shoes more.

    • angieneering101 February 9, 2017 at 10:16 pm #

      Hi again… If I recall, the repaired pair has the sole glued on and sewn for reinforcement. Hope this info helps.

Leave a Reply

