Hats Off, Part 2

6 May

Two weeks ago when I played golf with the octogenarian, it made me think of my maternal grandpa. I don’t have many octogenarian friends and people of this age usually reminds me of the grandpas and grandmas of the world who should be sitting at home comfortably instead of out on a golf course.

Now my grandpa was one cool dude (grandma was the worrier) but he was also a scary one, at least for me when I was younger.

I remember I used to follow Mom to visit the old folks whenever opportunity came around. And it was always, always customary to go greet him before anything else. This scared me the most because he would be sitting at his usual recliner with the fan on at full blast, playing his cards, and I had to go interrupt his concentration to basically say, hi grandpa, I am here.

And he would look up from his cards, squint his eyes and peer at me. It was terrifying as I had to stand there, fidgeting until he acknowledged my presence. Then when he realized it was me, he would tell me to come closer and without fail, pinch my nose and cheeks to no end! Ouch. Painful and I was not allowed to yelp. This was my greet grandpa routine. Some things you remember for life and this was one of them. Every single visit, this treatment.

After the ritual, I was off the hook and then only to grandma I would go or out to see the chickens, the dogs or just hang out around the house.

Mom always said that I have good cheeks and a pert nose today because of grandpa’s loving touches. Hats off to grandpa, a brandy and whiskey-swishing dude, who lived life to the fullest until the ripe old age of 97. When he passed on, it was a celebration of life instead of death. God bless his soul. 

Leave a Reply

