Short People Travel Too, Part 2

30 Mar

I must say I was impressed with the ample hooks in the bathroom of Kings Green Hotel at Malacca. It’s rare because most hotels that I have stayed at somehow do not place an importance on their availability, what more on height especially for short travellers. Could this be a hotel star-rating issue? A five-star versus a three-star for such amenities?

I remember when we were in Ipoh in August last year for golf as well, we faced a similar short travellers’ woes…

The hotel we stayed at was boutique-status and you would expect a nicer setup. If having a rain shower facility is considered a nice boutique offering, having no shower curtain certainly spoilt it.  I certainly didn’t place my dry clothes on the covered toilet seat because it’s so close by and water from such a height hitting a body would definitely splash beyond the imaginary demarcation.

In truth, I don’t recall any bathroom hooks (not even on the door) to hang clothes but I do remember the towel rack was placed at such a ridiculous height, it was impossible to use. I understand they may be trying to clear the floor but touching the ceiling? Goodness! How do I place my clothes? Throw them up and hope they land safely on it? Geez.

Maybe the boutique status was more of the coffees and cakes they serve at the lobby? Hmm… Now compare it a five-star hotel…

Several years ago, I was on a business trip to Singapore and stayed at Shangri-La on Orange Grove. Their bathroom was outstanding. Hooks everywhere and at a height a shorty feels right at home. Like I said, are such little details due to the premise’s space and ratings being a higher star-rating with full amenities versus a lower star rating with basics?

You would think that amenities were just stuff in the room and its fridge and bar, but no, additional hooks in the bathroom are actually an amenity too. Think about it the next time you travel…

Society must remember there are short people everywhere and because of this, I think I will start to document this little detail every time I travel from now on.

Ipoh-2016

The square patch above is the rain shower. Too bad I didn’t take a picture of where the towel rack was! 

5 Responses to “Short People Travel Too, Part 2”

  1. Scribbling Geek March 30, 2017 at 5:38 pm #

    Such thoughtfulness do go a long way.

  2. Evangelina March 31, 2017 at 8:56 pm #

    I have the opposite problem. I am very tall. Mirrors are generally speaking hanging too low, shower heads were installed in a height I have to bend my knees to fit under. Same problem, 180 degrees around.

    • angieneering101 March 31, 2017 at 8:59 pm #

      Thanks for visiting my blog.

      Oh dear… It’s tough being tall and short!!! But we enjoy the travels, don’t we?

      • Evangelina March 31, 2017 at 9:01 pm #

        Yes we do. Whatever it takes, right? 🙃

      • angieneering101 March 31, 2017 at 9:03 pm #

        Yup! Otherwise there’s no story to tell or experiences to share… 😊

Leave a Reply

