Archive | 10:45 am

Taking the Plunge

1 Jun

I finally decided to update the OS on my iPhone5S after the prompt to update to iOS10.3.2 came two days ago. 

Two reasons for taking this plunge after holding out for so long – I finally backed up my phone. I didn’t do this previously because of space issues on the laptop and compatibility problems with the old computer but now with a new computer in the office, I have synced my phone to it.

Second reason being, I would like to donwnload some new apps that I was unable to previously because the minimal requirement is iOS 8.0 and my phone’s still at iOS7.1.2! Yes, my phone’s such a dinosaur like me. 

Put it this way, I don’t have Uber on my phone and I think this app is far more important than Candy Crush, which I have deleted from my phone several months ago. Candy Crush Saga is now limited to the laptop only because it’s also gone from the iPad.

Thank goodness after the update, the phone did not have any major issues like my iPad Mini two years ago after its update. Phew! Although I have no regrets holding out for so long, I must admit it’s a timely decision because a lot of my go-to apps have updates. And possibly an older OS on the phone may not be compatible. Well, I don’t need to face this predicament from today onwards.